skip to content

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs)

NVQs in Health and Safety

SHE Knows offers City & Guilds NVQs in Occupational Health and Safety, the level 3 Certificate, Level 5 and Level 6 Diploma. These NVQs have become increasingly popular within the safety industry over the past 20 years. Did you know that a salary survey in 2010 identified that NVQ holders earned more than the NEBOSH Diploma holders, proving that competence in the workplace is essential to the job selection process?
NVQs are achieved in your workplace; you will be required to produce a portfolio of evidence as listed in our unique workbook.

National Vocational Qualifications are work based and involve no exams!

At SHE Knows we are human assessors, not a computer or team of admin staff. We are there for every learner and we pester them until they finish! Via email, WhatsApp, Facebook messenger or whatever it takes to get the evidence we need! We issue our candidates with a workbook that provides you with a route map through your qualification, taking you through your NVQ step by easy step! Evidence requirements are specified in a checklist format, and all cross referencing is done for you, what’s more our Assessors endeavour to visit you at your site to observe you in your workplace and assist with professional discussions and portfolio building, so you can work towards your NVQ with the minimum of paperwork. On successful completion of your NVQ, candidates can initiate their application to IOSH to become a Tech or Grad Member.
The City & Guilds Level 6 Diploma is fully recognised by the Institute of Occupational Safety & Health (IOSH) as a route to Grad.IOSH membership.

NVQ Level 3 Certificate

holds the same status and respect as the NEBOSH (International) General Certificate. Students studying for NVQ Level 3 ideally should have undertaken the IOSH Managing Safely Certificate and be undertaking a supporting H&S role within your organisation.

NVQ Level 5 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice

is a practitioner’s qualification, ideal for those taking their first role in safety, undertaking site inspections, risk assessments and training.
Ask us about our CPD units and free additional units within the NVQ level 5.

NVQ Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice

is on a par with the NEBOSH Diploma level 6. IOSH holds both qualifications at entrance level for Grad.IOSH membership. Students studying for Level 6 Diploma ideally should have undertaken a Level 3 H&S qualification (such as the NEBOSH Certificate, NVQ level 3 in Health and Safety or Certificate in Environmental Health (CIEH) L4 in H&S) and be undertaking a substantial H&S role within the organisation, holding decision making responsibilities.

NCRQ learners – Come and talk to us about your study options with our Level 6 Diploma. We will use your current NCRQ work to reduce the amount of time and evidence you need to work towards your City & Guilds NVQ.

Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Health and Safety Management and Leadership

This qualification is aimed at candidates who are responsible for developing and applying health and safety procedures and planning in a strategic manner. The candidates must be in a healthy and safety managerial role to be considered for this qualification. You are likely to be a senior health and safety manager or consultant.

What does the qualification cover?
This qualification covers a broad range of subject areas in which strategic managers are involved with and will allow candidates to develop and demonstrate the skills.

Course UnitsAssessment
This qualification is competence-based, candidates must demonstrate their level of competence in line with the course standards/criteria as part of a portfolio. Assessments will take place with your allocated assessor to ensure that your evidence/responses are suitable. The qualification is internally assessed by an experienced and qualified IQA. Evidence can include: –
• work product including spreadsheets and worked examples of policies, assignments, projects, reports etc
• observation report by assessor
• professional discussion
• witness testimony
• verbal and written questioning
• Recognition of Prior Learning